Getting your face off Facebook

The irony here is that since I turned on the “publicize” feature of my blog, this post is going to be posted to Facebook. Ha, don’t be deceived friends, it’s an auto feature; I didn’t have to log on.

Since I got Facebook in 2007, it was evident the site was a tool that could be used for good … and for evil. Everyone laments that they spend too much time on there, but I really had a problem with it. The site also enabled my bad behavior like procrastinating homework, getting jealous of or criticizing friends and acquaintances, and comparing myself to others.

ImageHowever, as the site testifies, it allowed me to connect with friends both old an new, keep up with more people overall, and even to build professional relationships – which is why I could never rationalize deleting it completely. Plus, I hate it when there’s someone you really need to talk to but their Facebook is completely gone. Thus the addiction and its detrimental effects wore on.

The solution:
In August I finally figured out a way to deal with it all. It’s not permanent; I’ll need to use Facebook again at some point, but it’s better than what I was doing before. I still have my page up so that I can log in if I absolutely have to, and I can be tagged in photos. I have my cell phone number in the “about” section so people can contact me. But I got my mom to change the account’s password and now I don’t know it, so I can’t check my page unless I’m visiting home. One of my friends told me you can also do this trick sans-mother by changing your password to something random (use a password generator), writing it down, and hiding the piece of paper.

How’s that workin’ out for ya?
I have seen the light. Coming from a person who loves Facebook, this is a big deal. The biggest difference of not being on Facebook is that I surf the internet less overall, because there’s less instant gratification for me to seek. This is the root of my time-wasting problem; I face something hard that I don’t want to do like schoolwork, then turn to the internet to entertain me and hit that pleasure center on my brain (SCIENCE: Why is Facebook So Hard to Quit, 5 Scientifically-Proven Reasons to Ditch your Facebook).

The smaller differences are subtle and unexpected bonuses. It’s been about five weeks since I logged off for the last time, and though I’m having so. much. fun. in daily life the time has also been just inching by! It’s weird. The days have been so rich. They don’t blur like last year; they’re full and joyful. Maybe that has more to do with my awesome new roommates/living situation in Waco, taking that sweet trip to Big Bend National Park with my family, and getting to run again, which are all hugely positive. Or maybe it’s because I haven’t used Facebook to treat my boredom or desire for significance and have been forced to be fully present in the world I’m in right now.

Regardless, not being being on Facebook is allowing me to live a fuller life.

Image

Quote that, suckas.

One thought on “Getting your face off Facebook

  1. Pingback: Ice Cream, Audrey Hepburn, and Novel Writing | BradCF

Leave a Reply

