Mango applesauce

Storebought applesauce is great – cheap, healthy, tastes pretty good. But it’s a bit predictable, so I made my own. This is barely a recipe; more of pointing out a specific cooking technique you can use to make pureed food.

Speaking of pureed food, I think I’m going to be one of those parents who insists on making their own baby food. I mean, you have to ensure the best for your child, don’t you? — this line of thinking has inspired me to google how to make homemade pet food, but from little cat cookies to full-blown raw diets that make you grind bones the differing opinions are way too confusing, my cats are still eating dry food. Sorry, cat girls. Jury’s still out on how best to feed you. Besides, we fed your predecessor dry food and she lived to be 19.

Back to the applesauce. I made this one with mango and used this recipe (cutesy pictures included).

Mango Applesauce

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 1/2 pounds Apples, cleaned, cored and cut into chunky pieces, keep the skins on (I used Cripps Pink. Cripps, like the gang hehe)
  • 2 Mangos, cleaned and pitted, skin removed and cut into chunks
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • a squirt of Lemon Juice
  • 1 cup Water

METHOD

In a medium saucepan combine apples, mangos, water, lemon juice and vanilla. Bring to a boil and then lower heat to a simmer. Simmer applesauce for about a 1/2 hour, stirring occasionally. Let applesauce cool for a few minutes. With ladle put applesauce in blender or food processor. Puree until desired consistency is reached. Add more water if needed.

Image

Bottom left photo = living dangerous with that irresistible immersion blender blade.

Results: the mango flavor was a nice addition. The vanilla was kind of dominant; I think I’d leave it out next time. Didn’t add any sugar and didn’t miss it. I used this applesauce in some muffins and ate the rest on my oatmeal for a few days. I also froze some which worked out well. Recommend! Very simple recipe and satisfying results. Plus, being able to use the immersion blender to get it to the desired texture was nice.

Leave a Reply

