Enchiladas with Spicy Pumpkin Sauce

Enchiladas – my first go round

Spicy, cheesy, smooth – mmmm, enchiladas. This was my first go-round with any type of enchilada, definitely want to try more. Spinach inside, a meat sauce on the outside, more cheese, how good would that be?

Behold, my cooking photos: no lightbox, no DSLR … no shame!

1. Grill pork loin chops. I rubbed some garlic, chile powder, cumin, salt and pepper on these. I know you’re supposed to roast them and then shred the meat for enchiladas, but it was 1 pm and I wanted lunch as soon as possible.

At least I used my regular camera instead of my cell phone

2. Chop pork, combine with chopped scallions for enchilada filling.

(not cat food)

3. Combine sauce ingredients: pumpkin, minced garlic and jalapeno, salt and pepper, chile powder, water. Stir until smooth.

Pumpkin sauce prep

stirred together

4. Cheese, cheese, freshly-grated, creamy, glorious cheese! When I shredded this whole 6 oz, I thought, “Moderation, Martha!” (it was a Martha Stewart recipe) because it seemed like way too much. But then… I wasn’t sorry. the cheese was the best part. Thank you for calling for 3/4 of a block of cheese, Martha.

Extra sharp of course!

5. Fill and roll enchiladas. I think a little fuller would have worked better because a couple of mine cracked. Newbie mistake.

Enchiladas pre-roll

6. Assemble enchiladas: place rolled enchiladas in pan, pour on the sauce, top with cheese, and bake away!

Halfway through sprinkling

While my enchiladas were baking, I started cleaning the kitchen.

My roommates put up with me… thankfully.

Aaaand here we go – pork enchiladas with spicy pumpkin sauce!

If only that was the portion I ate… instead of that and like two times more. Oof!

Conclusion: Didn’t come out looking very recognizable – but of course it was tasty. The pumpkin flavor was pretty mild, but the spiciness of the jalapeno gave me some more diversity. The cheese crust on top was my favorite part, which made me think I should have just made a stovetop quesadilla and called it a day! But the cooking process is inherently satisfying too, and I got another cooking method under my belt,  so I’m happy I made these.

They were just for myself, but I made them again this weekend (using rotisserie chicken that you could actually shred) for my boyfriend and his parents. I think they cost about $10 for all the ingredients ($6 for the chicken) and fed four people with ample leftovers. On these bases I recommend trying out these enchiladas.

Recipe here or below:

Spicy Enchiladas with Pumpkin Sauce

wait, I’ve been calling it the wrong thing this whole time? Um, “spicy” is an interchangeable adjective :)

From Everyday Food, May 2004

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 1/2 leftover Thyme-Roasted Chicken with Potatoes, skin removed, meat shredded
  • 6 scallions, thinly sliced
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin puree
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 jalapeno chile, quartered (remove ribs and seeds for less heat, if desired)
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 8 corn tortillas (6-inch)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated sharp white cheddar cheese (6 ounces)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine chicken and scallions. Season generously with salt and pepper; set aside.
  2. In a blender, puree pumpkin, garlic, jalapeno, chili powder, 2 1/2 cups water, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper until smooth (hold top firmly as blender will be quite full). Pour 1 cup of sauce in the bottom of an 8-inch square (or other shallow 2-quart) baking dish.
  3. Lay tortillas on work surface; mound chicken mixture on half of each tortilla, dividing evenly. Roll up tortillas; place, seam side down, in baking dish.
  4. Pour remaining sauce on top; sprinkle with cheese. Place dish on a baking sheet; bake until cheese is golden and sauce is bubbling, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes before serving.

Read more at Marthastewart.com: Spicy Enchiladas with Pumpkin Sauce – Martha Stewart Recipes

One thought on “Enchiladas with Spicy Pumpkin Sauce

  1. beabee

    Mmm… those look yummy. I wish I had someone to cook for besides Mr. Picky-Pants! Maybe I’ll make a different kind, with just the canned red enchilada sauce.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

