Chicken Tikka Masala

After stuffing ourselves at an Indian restaurant for my birthday with my parents, Bryan and I decided to recreate our favorite dish from the meal: Chicken Tikka Masala. The waiter recommended this creamy tomato dish and the fact that I don’t remember what else we ordered that night attests to its merit.

I searched online for a recipe and there just happened to be a  Pioneer Woman version. I need to branch out from using her recipes, but I can’t help it; she keeps drawing me in with her luscious photos and sarcastic instructions. If you are into cooking at all, you must check out her super-popular site.

I also got to use my new Christmas present for this dish: a dutch oven!

Thanks, Mom!

In Chicken Tikka Masala, chicken gets cooked separately and added in at the end. Bryan and I roasted the diced-up thighs on skewers in the oven with some Indian spices like cumin and coriander, and plain yogurt on top. I think this was in lieu of a marinade, which other recipes called for.

For the sauce, crushed tomatoes are simmered with sauteed onions and spices: garam masala, coriander, cumin, fresh garlic and ginger, and one powerful serrano pepper. Near the end, you add heavy cream and finally the chicken pieces.

The consistency is like a really thick soup with bite-size chicken, and we served it over brown rice and cilantro on top. On the side, plain peas and fresh mango were a relieving compliment to the masala’s spice.

I’m usually pretty self-congratulatory with my cooking efforts (unless I majorly fail, like these Thanksgiving-spiced lentil burgers I tried once), but seriously, this was one of the best things I’ve ever made. Wickedly spicy, hearty, rich and exotic.

Pioneer Woman's Version

One thought on “Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. Bryan

    I can’t wait to make this or order this again. How could I have gone so long without knowing the tasty goodness that is Chicken Tikka Masala?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

